Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The SAB will ensure the highest standard of research and monitoring
of the progress of the project by taking part in the annual General Assembly meetings and consulting on the implementation of the trial – the purpose being a smooth and effective delivery of the research programme.

The SAB is led by Prof. Werner Hacke (UKL-HD), who performed several large stroke trials in Europe, and has a tremendous experience in stroke research. He is working with several leading experts, who accepted to join the SAB of EuroHYP-1.


Prof. Werner Hacke
Prof. Werner Hacke

Werner Hacke, M.D., Ph.D., D.Sc. (hon), FESO

Werner Hacke, is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurology at the University of Heidelberg in Germany. He is currently the First Vice President of the World Federation of Neurology (WFN) and was the founding President (now Past-President) of the European Stroke Organizsation. He is a Past President of the German Neurological Society, the German Stroke Society and the German Interdisciplinary Society of Intensive Care Medicine.
He received his Neurology training at the University of Aachen, Germany and at the University of Bern, Switzerland. After spending one year as visiting scientist at the Scripps Research Foundation in La Jolla, California, he took the Chair of Neurology at Heidelberg in 1987.
His main scientific and clinical interest is in Acute Stroke, Critical Care Neurology and in Stroke Prevention. He has pioneered the field of thrombolysis for acute stroke and initiated several new management options for large infarctions including hypothermia and decompressive surgery.
In 1998 he was the first European recipient of the Feinberg Award for Excellence in Stroke Research, given by the American Stroke Association and the first recipient of the Karolinska Stroke Award in 2004. He was awarded the Nonne-Medal, the highest award of the German Neurological Society in 2008. He received the Presidents Award by the World Stroke Organisation (2008), the Mihara Award by the Mihara Foundation (Japan, 2009), and the Jarecki Award (USA, 2009).
Prof Hacke is honorary member of several national societies of Neurology, including the American Neurological Association (ANA), the Pan Russian Society of Neurology and the French Neurological Society, and holds an honorary doctorate in Tblisi, Georgia. In 2005, he was named European editor of the Journal “ Stroke”.
He was chair of the steering committees of several acute treatment and secondary prevention trials including ECASS I-III, SPACE, CHARISMA, AbESTT I and II, DIAS and DIAS II, DESTINY I and II, and others.
Prof. Hacke has published 330 original articles listed in pubmed and SCI. He is the scientist with the highest citation rate (>25.000) in the field of Stroke and Vascular Neurology (h-index 82 (web of science) resp. 93 (google scholar)).

Prof. Peter Sandercock
Prof. Peter Sandercock

Prof. Peter Sandercock (Univ Edinburgh)

Professor Peter Sandercock is an academic clinical neurologist at the University of Edinburgh. His chief research interests are in evaluating interventions for the treatment, prevention or rehabilitation of stroke in clinical trials and with systematic reviews of clinical trials.  He was the Chief Investigator of IST-1, the first mega-trial in acute ischaemic stroke, of aspirin & heparin  in 19435 patients with acute stroke recruited from 467 hospitals in 37 countries.  He is the Co-Chief Investigator of IST-3, the largest-ever trial of thrombolytic therapy for acute ischaemic stroke, with 3035 patients.  He is also Director of Edinburgh Neuroscience.


Prof. Bo Norrving (President WSO)

Bo Norrving is professor in neurology at Lund University, Sweden. He was corresponding author of the Swedish Aspirin Low-Dose Trial, the first trial to demonstrate the benefit of low dose aspirin therapy for stroke prevention. He was a pioneer in cerebral hemodynamics by blood flow techniques, clinical syndromes of cerebellar stroke and lacunar infarcts, and silent small vessel disease, and he chairs the steering committee of SIFAP, the world’s largest study on stroke in the young.

He was an Associate Editor of Stroke 2005-2010 (currently senior consulting editor), and co-founded of Riks-Stroke, the world’s 1st national stroke registry. He is member of the program committee for the European Stroke Conference and the International Stroke Conference. He chairs the stroke section of ICD-11 at WHO. He is a member of the steering committee of the World Stroke Academy, and took part in the Stroke ABC Programme covering hospital populations of  >300 million people.

Bo Norrving is since 2008 the President of the World Stroke Organisation.    


Prof. Didier Leys, MD, PhD (President of ESO, Univ Lille)

Didier Leys is Professor of Neurology and Head of the Neurological Department at the University “Lille North of France”.  He is currently president of the European Stroke Organisation and past president of the French Stroke Society.  He has authored more than 250 scientific papers (H score = 55), book chapters, and books on stroke. His main topics of interest are acute stroke, post stroke dementia, and factors predisposing to cervical artery dissections.
He is member of the editorial board of Stroke and Cerebrovascular Diseases, and has been associate editor of the Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry.  

Prof. Michael Brainin (President-elect of ESO)


Prof. Stephen Meairs (ESN)



Prof. Ulrich Dirnagl (ESN)



Prof. Michael Hennerici (ESN Clinical Trial Platform)



Prof. Nils Wahlgren (SITS Collaboration, ESN CTP)



Prof. Jan van Gijn (Utrecht Univ)