Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the EuroHYP-1 trial is the primary governance and decision making forum of the research programme. The Committee is responsible for the vital decisions associated to the trial, including the content of the research as well as the strategies chosen for implementation.

The EuroHYP-1 Executive Committee consists of seven principal members and founders of the European Stroke Research Network for Hypothermia (EuroHYP) and is chaired by Prof. Stefan Schwab.


Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Stefan Schwab
+49-(0)9131-85 34563
+49-(0)9131-85 36597

Coordinator of the EuroHYP-1 Trial

Dr. Malcolm Macleod
+44 (0) 786 265 166
+44 (0) 131 332 5150

Scientific Liaison Officer of the EuroHYP-1 trial
(President of EuroHYP, 2011-2012)

Reader and Head of Experimental Neuroscience Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences University of Edinburgh

Honorary Consultant Neurologist, Neurology Clinical Lead, and Clinical Lead, Neurology MCN, NHS Forth Valley,

Honorary Consultant Neurologist, NHS Lothian

Lead Clinician, South East Scotland Stroke Research Network


Dr. Jesper Petersson
Patient Liaison Officer and Regional Coordinator


Prof. Dr. Derk Krieger
+45 28117047

SME Liaison Officer and SME WP leader

Derk W. Krieger is Professor for Cerebrovascular Diseases at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark since 2008. Since his arrival in Copenhagen he is establishing a complex stroke center for multidisciplinary clinical stroke management and research. He received his medical degree at the RWTH University at Aachen, Germany and his neurological residency at the University in Heidelberg, Germany. He defended his doctoral thesis in 1987, and his habilitation in 1993. He became Assistant Professor for Neurological Critical Care at University of Texas Health Center at Herman Hospital in Houston, Texas, US in 1996 and Staff at the Cerebrovascular Center at the Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland, Ohio in 1998. He conducted early human studies of hypothermia in stroke and became Associate Professor of Neurology at Lerner College of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio in 2003. He conducted a fellowship in endovascular interventions at the Mason Jones Catheter Laboratories at the Cleveland Clinic Heart Center from 2003 to 2007. He has contributed to more than 100 scientific articles, written book chapters and edited one book. His main interests include heart and brain connection in stroke, neurological critical care, including therapeutic cooling and endovascular stroke therapy.


PD Dr. med. Rainer Kollmar
+49 9131-8539190
+49 9131-8536469

WP-leader of WP 7 (study conduct) and Co-WP-leader of WP 3 (SME)

Rainer Kollmar is vice-chair of the Department of Neurology at University hospital Erlangen, Germany. Main research interests are neuro-intensive and acute stroke care. Rainer Kollmar is principle investigator of various investigator initiated  phase II trials on therapeutic hypothermia including ischemic stroke, intracerebral hemorrhage and subarachnoidal hemorrhage (COAST, CINCH, etc.). Besides he is involved in device development for cooling. In Erlangen, he continued experimental animal research on neuroprotection in ischemic stroke and intracerebral hemorrhage. Currently, novel treatment strategies for cooling are tested in rodents.

Dr. Bart van der Worp
WP7 co-leader and Regional Coordinator



MSc. Istvan Szabo
Consortium Secretary General
(Secretary General of EuroHYP, the legal entity registered in Brussels)